Happy Birthday

This blog was created on my birthday, but just barely.

I’ve been considering starting a blog on and off several times over the past 6 months or so, but I have not found the motivation to actually start it, until now, it seems. I set the goal a couple of weeks ago that I wanted my blog to be born on my own birthday, but this post just a bit late late. So much for plans. I just consider it an accomplishment that I’ve actually come to this point, and I hope to go much further.

I wasn’t sure what the best way to introduce my blog might be. Should I do a statement of purpose? Should I simply ramble on about things that might appear here? Should I clearly set a format and tone right away? Should I try to make the posts as polished as possible, or should I be unafraid of poor sentence structure and the possibility of spelling errors, rampant informality or odd tonal shifts? At this point, I’m just going to wing it (in a semi-organized fashion) and just see where this takes me.

There are some things I want to achieve with this blog:

1. I want to use it as a place to exercise and hone my writing skills

2. I want this blog to be a challenge for me to commit to something

3. I want this blog to function in some ways like a journal. Journaling is something I regret never doing regularly in years past.

4. I want to share my interests with others (who will, at least initially, be friends and family)

That’s a good start I think. I may get to a manifesto eventually, but I’ll keep it loose for now. As for the content of this blog, I expect most of it will be centered around popular culture and entertainment in some way, particularly the realms of film and television. Other topics that will likely appear include music, the NFL, history, books and anything else I might think of.

So there’s that. Here’s to trying something new and hoping it will be fun, productive, lasting and worthwhile.

Leave a Reply

